Reviews

Kiss the Moon

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 19.41.39.pngKiss the Moon is a unique award winning, natural beauty & wellness brand that combines ingredients in their products that will nourish the skin and naturally enhance a good nights sleep.

Founded by Jo Foster in 2014, Kiss the Moon was created through Jo’s own personal journey of struggling to balance a busy life and maintaining a good sleep pattern in order to help manage the demands of hectic travel schedules & work deadlines.

After much research Jo has created 4 high quality aromatherapy blends and made them into luxurious products to be used as part of a night time beauty regime.

 

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 20.54.27.png

I love everything about this brand, Kiss the Moon is run by a small team of amazing ladies passionate about self wellbeing. Their products are exceptional and it is no wonder that when the founder Jo Foster began creating these exquisite aromatherapy blends that her family and friends encouraged her to share them with the world.

It is very clear that the ingredients used in the products are of extremely high quality and the essential oil blends have been very carefully and thoughtfully put together so that it is easy to distinguish each of the aromatherapy oils used.

Each blend captivates and arouses the senses encouraging you to just stop, relax and breathe.

 

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 21.36.03.png

 

 

The perfect Kiss the Moon sleep inducing ritual

Light one of the Kiss the Moon Candles.

While running a bath, add the award winning Lavender & Bergamot, Dream Afterdark bath oil .

Then lather one of the soaps from the Kiss the Moon Soap collection to help wash away the stresses of the day.

Once soothed and restored, exfoliate the face with the Natural Brown Sugar Face Polish to gently remove dead skin cells. Then to nourish and encourage cell rejuvenation apply my personal favourite Kiss the Moon product Glow After Dark Facial Oil and massage into the skin.

Rub Calm Afterdark Sleep Balm to temples and pulse points.

To complete the ritual use Love Hand Cream and rub deeply into hands to heal and restore.

Then last but not least spray Pillow Mist over your pillow and bedding to help induce a great night’s sleep.

 

The products are perfect to indulge in self love & appreciation and they have fantastic gifts sets to spoil those that you love.

If I’ve not convinced you then head over to Kiss the Moon sample selection to test the products out for yourself.

 

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 21.35.44.png

Where you can also find Kiss the Moon selected lines

Kiss the Moon has been awarded Leaping Bunny status and all products are suitable for Vegans.

Screen Shot 2018-10-14 at 21.03.51.png

 

 

 

 

In December Kylie Jenner posted on Twitter, promoting her amazing luxury “real” cosmetic brushes.

Quoting “Real brushes don’t compare to synthetic”

Screen Shot 2018-01-01 at 22.16.27.png

 

Kylie Jenner is very wrong but sadly impressionable young women will buy into what is ultimately a marketing ploy.  Good quality synthetic brushes are much better than real brushes and here’s why.

Firstly if you use a synthetic brush then no other living being had to suffer in order for you to apply make up to your face. It might come as a surprise but animals don’t give their fur willingly, so animal hair used in cosmetic brushes will usually be from a by product of another cruel industry, an example being hair that comes from Mink will often be a by product of the fur industry.  If that isn’t enough for you then there are plenty more reasons to opt for using synthetic brushes.

Companies promoting real hair brushes will tell you that their brushes are superior to synthetic brushes because they naturally have better blending properties and this is literally all they have to say in comparison and yet even this isn’t completely true.

 

M.O.T.D Cosmetics

Motd Cosmetics is a luxury brand of make up brushes that are a PETA certified, Cruelty Free, and Vegan. The brushes are made from recyclable aluminium, eco-friendly wood, and taklon fiber bristles. Motd Cosmetics  is a company based in Las Vegas and created by Chantal Azamian an amazing woman with a vision to create cosmetic brushes empowering people in their creativity to create looks that they love, keeping in mind that compassion and kindness are key to creating a conscious forward thinking brand.

Screen Shot 2018-01-21 at 12.06.54.png

 

Motd Cosmetic Brushes  are made with a high grade synthetic polyester fiber that mimics animal hair to distribute make up products evenly around the face in the same way that animal fur can.

For those who suffer with allergies Motd Cosmetic brushes are a safer alternative to animal hair brushes. They are hypoallergenic, antibacterial and non porous unlike animal fur making them suitable for people who have sensitive skin. Where as animal hair brushes trap the dirt and oil from our face and creates a breeding ground for bacteria.

Motd Cosmetics were recently kind enough to send me their brushes to try and they really are just lush.

IMG_4361.JPG

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I’ve been using Bodyshop cosmetic brushes for a little over a year now and been relatively happy enough with them, they do the job I need them to but I wouldn’t consider them high quality, they’re average at best.

Since using Motd Cosmetic Brushes I can really notice the difference and now understand why it is worth investing in high quality synthetic brushes. These brushes feel super soft to touch and yet they are incredibly strong holding, I’ve been using them a couple of weeks now and not noticed one shed hair. The brushes easily lift the product and blend flawlessly, they also don’t hold on to the product as there is very little residue left on the brush once applied, ensuring that your not wasting the product your applying.

The Products

You can purchase the brushes individually or as sets, the whole brush set costs $120usd and this consists of 15 brushes.

The Price

For a luxury cosmetic brush brand you can expect to pay £30 onward just for one brush alone. On average to buy one Motd your looking at spending $12usd which in British pounds is around £9, I personally think this is exceptional value for the product as I have paid much more for average quality brushes.

 

 

Clean your brushes

It’s important to clean your makeup brushes and I have before now totally ruined my brushes when doing so. Motd brushes are so easy to clean and I recommend checking out their tutorial on how to clean your makeup brushes.

 

 

Additionally you should check out  M.o.t.d You Tube Channel for product details and tips, InstagramFacebookTwitter and Pintrest.

 

 

Yllo Beauty  is a Tumeric based Vegan Skin Care Brand and no it doesn’t stain!!

 

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 20.20.40.png

 

Tumeric is a herbaceous plant that is a native plant of India and the Southeast Asian continent, initially Tumeric was used as a dye but is now more commonly used in the culinary world, in particular curry dishes.

 

Jaz & Jamil are the founders of Yllo Beauty

Jamil who was familiar with traditional Indian skincare remedies that were natural and Tumeric based and Jaz who had suffered from reoccurring skin problems for years were together inspired to create Yllo Beauty a Tumeric skincare product that worked on healing skin ailments rather than hiding them.

Yllo Beauty products

Tumeric Facial Scrub

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 20.39.13.png

Turmeric reduces blemishes and redness, lightens facial hair, fades scarring, and evens out skin tone. Our face scrub works to deeply exfoliate, awaken, and soften your skin.

Tumeric Facemask

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 20.41.56.png

Turmeric reduces blemishes and redness, lightens facial hair, fades scarring, and evens out skin tone. Our face mask works to draw out impurities, awaken, and soften your skin.

 

Tumeric Face Elixir

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 20.43.00.png

Our face elixir works to heal, nourish, and revitalise your skin. After cleansing, shake bottle and drop onto fingertips. Gently pat over face at bedtime.

Tumeric Body Scrub

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 20.45.02.png

Turmeric reduces blemishes and redness, lightens body hair, fades scarring, and evens out skin tone. Our body scrub works to thoroughly cleanse, awaken, and soften your skin

You can also purchase these products together as a package at Yllo Beauty

Screen Shot 2018-01-07 at 20.47.10.png

 

The Yllo Beauty skincare range is Vegan & Cruelty free and 100% natural and free of any preservatives. Additionally for every product purchased 10% goes to the charity Girls Not Brides which is working to help child marriage, an issue which is close to Jamil’s heart.

Now before you go reaching for the Tumeric in your kitchen cupboards, just hold up a second because Tumeric does stain. Yllo Beauty is especially formulated with the right amount of Tumeric so that it doesn’t stain your skin, it will however stain your washcloth and towels, so I would recommend using darker coloured washcloths and ensure to remove the product completely before drying.

It is recommended that you use the product 2-3 times a week and you should expect to start seeing results within 1-2 months.

For the results I recommend checking out  Yllo Beauty product reviews

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-10 at 23.50.17.png

 

Jo Loves is a brand of fragrance that has been created by Jo Malone, the founder of the Jo Malone brand which is now owned by Estée Lauder a brand that does allow their products to be tested on animals as they are sold on mainland China.

Her new brand Jo Loves is all about the fragrances that she loves, inspired by her memories.

I have a lot of admiration for Jo Malone and her journey as a female entrepreneur and creator is incredibly inspirational. From fairly humble beginnings to starting her own business creating fragrances in her bathtub and going on to become one of the most prestigious fragrance brand names is quite an extraordinary achievement.

I recently reached out to the Jo Loves customer service team to ask if they were Cruelty Free and Vegan friendly, this was their response.

 

Thank you for your email and for your interest in Jo Loves.

 I am happy to confirm that Jo Loves products do not contain animal derived substances and nor does Jo Loves conduct or commission animal testing on our ingredients or products. We do not sell in China.

 With kind regards,

Alistair Divers

Customer Services

 Jo Loves

Created by Jo Malone

 Jo Loves Limited

Suite 4

Queripel House

1 Duke of York Square

London SW3 4LY

 T: +44 (0) 207 730 6091

I additionally checked that their suppliers were also cruelty free and they confirmed that they are to their knowledge.

 

The Location

Screen Shot 2017-12-16 at 19.50.52.png

Jo Malone has returned to the place where her passion for fragrance began, where she first worked as a florist at No 42 Elizabeth Street in London and this is the one and only Jo Loves store.

Purchases can be made online via her website for the UK and for all other territories I have included some links below.

USA: SEPHORA.COM

WORLDWIDE: NET-A-PORTER.COM

UNITED ARAB EMIRATES: EMIRATES HIGH STREET

 

Jo Loves is a unique, high end, quality perfume brand that is not only creating fragrances but is innovating new ways in how we apply our fragrance.

 

Jo Loves Fragrance Brush

Screen Shot 2017-12-16 at 20.32.03.png

 

 

The Fragrance Brush is a gel formula that holds the scent and when applied to the skin dries in seconds, perfect for carrying in your handbag.

Four of the Jo Loves fragrances are currently available to purchase as a paintbrush and retail at £40.00.

These include Pomelo Jo Malone’s signature scent, White Rose & Lemon Leaves, Red Truffle 21 and Green Orange & Coriander.

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-16 at 20.35.31.png

 

The Fragrance Range

The combination of strong base notes mixed with floral and citrus notes make the fragrance longer lasting, this kind of blending also makes most of the fragrances unisex.

Some of the fragrances like Gardenia, one of my personal favourites are considerably more feminine and likewise some of the fragrances have a more masculine appeal ie. Red Truffle.

Other products include bath oils, cleansers and lotions.

There is also a Jo Loves candle range and I can confirm they are made from mineral wax.

Screen Shot 2017-12-16 at 21.09.41.png

 

This high end perfume brand is expensive and unfortunately they no longer offer  reasonably priced sample boxes that you can purchase online. That said all the write up’s of the fragrances are very descriptive helping you decide on the right fragrance for you.

 

 

 

 

 

Screen Shot 2017-12-31 at 00.02.06.png

Dr Botanicals is a London based Vegan/Cruelty Free brand of Natural Skincare Products that was founded in 2016 .

Personally I much prefer facial oils as part of my skincare regime over cream based moisturisers for a number of reasons and I recently tried Dr Botanicals Moroccan Rose Superfood Facial Oil.

Screen Shot 2017-12-30 at 23.58.05.png

The fragrance of Dr Botanicals Moroccan Rose facial oil has the most beautiful scent of a skin care product I have ever used.

The consistency of the facial oil however is unlike any other facial oil I have used as it is very light and feels more like water than oil. This surprised me initially as it was not what I was expecting and I felt somewhat disappointed because I was concerned that the product was not going to be as hydrating as I’d hoped it would be.

I’ve been using the product now for 2 weeks and I love it and I can confirm that it does all that Dr Botanicals says it does, it feels nourishing and visibly brightens and evens out the skin tone.

The instructions say that you only need to apply 2-3 drops, I’ve easily triple this amount  for a couple of reasons. Firstly it’s winter and my skin feels like it needs deeply moisturising to protect it from the harsh winter elements. Another reason why I like to use more than the recommended amount is because as part of my skincare routine I think it’s important to massage the face daily, if you don’t do this then 2-3 drops maybe an adequate amount for you.

One of the advantages of this facial oil being very light, it allows me to use in the morning without making my face greasy before I apply my make-up.

I use the product both in the morning and evening, despite easily using 7-9 drops per application I have only used a fraction of the bottle and I am expecting this bottle to last me between 2-3 months.

This Dr Botanicals Moroccan Facial Oil Retails at £35.90 for a travel size bottle.

Below is Dr Botanicals product description
Dry Skin, Normal Skin, Oily Skin

This Moroccan Rose infused Facial oil is packed full of minerals and vitamins, all working together to rejuvenate, renew and protect skin. Rich in antioxidants and moisturising properties to keep your skin protected and hydrated when it needs it most.

We believe oils and plant extracts can make a genuine difference to skin. Never tested on animals, this range embodies our belief in the potent power of botanicals.

The main active ingredients in the formulation are:

1) Vitamin C helps to stimulate collagen production, for younger-looking skin.
2) Vitamin A is a powerful antioxidant with aims to rejuvenate skin, even skin tone and reduce the signs of ageing; while protecting from free radicals.
3) Almond Oil deeply moisturises and nourishes skin, whilst brightening the complexion for brighter fresh looking skin.

 

 

 

 

It’s that time of year again……….

When we spend a lot of money and time agonising over gift buying for that one day of the year Christmas.

(Not mentioning the queues or not being able to get a parking space anywhere pfft….)

 

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 19.17.42.png

 

Anyway you’ve probably guessed I am not the biggest Christmas fan, but I am a big Lush fan. They make Christmas so easy catering for small secret santa gifts and stocking fillers to more special gifts such as big pamper sets and Lush Spa Treatment vouchers with the added benefit of them already coming wrapped.

Here are my favourite Lush gift recommendations

For that special loved one I can totally recommend giving them a Lush Spa voucher

 

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 19.43.56.png

 

There are a number of Spa treatments on offer starting at £50 with the Tailor Made a 30 minute massage, going up to £285 treatment called The Planets consisting of various treatments lasting up to 3 hours and the package also includes a Palm reading.

Many other treatments are available in between this price range and all treatments can be tailored to suit Vegans.

From experience I can tell you that a Lush Spa treatment is definitely a great gift.

I had the Tailor Made Treatment at the Liverpool Lush Spa earlier this year and it was such an amazing experience, they even provided an optional Rum tea afterwards to finish off the nautical themed massage just nicely.

As a former holistic therapist I can tell you the staff are excellently trained and all treatments are unique and exclusive to Lush.

The treatments even have their own soundtrack, you can checkout some of the relaxation music used in the soundcloud link below.

For relaxation music lovers all CD’s are available to purchase via the Lush Music Link

 

The Lush Spa even cater for couple packages should you wish to enjoy that special gift with your loved one.

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 20.32.52.png

 

Face masks

Face masks at Lush have always been my favourite item to buy, I love that you can bring any 5 black pots back and get a free face mask, it’s a great incentive to encourage recycling. Due to most of the Face masks needing to be put in the fridge they haven’t always been the best gift idea, that was until now.

Now they have created a face mask called Jelly Masks that do not require putting in the fridge making them ideal for stocking fillers or even perhaps budget secret santa gifts.

(all but one of the Jelly Facemasks are suitable for Vegans)

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 20.37.47.png

 

Cute little stocking fillersScreen Shot 2017-11-04 at 20.41.34.png

 

Lush Gift Packages start at £8.95 going up to the WOW gift set which is £250

 

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 20.56.21.png

 

Lush Bath Bombs starting at just £1.95 going up to £12.95 make great little stocking fillers.

https://videopress.com/embed/oVJPex0n?hd=0&autoPlay=0&permalink=0&loop=0

 

I love the Lush bath bombs, I think that they’re not only good gifts for adults that want some rest and relaxation in the bath, they’re also great gifts for children making bath time fun and it’s a much healthier alternative to putting a load of sweets in their Christmas stocking.

Screen Shot 2017-11-04 at 20.51.02.png

 

Please feel free to share your favourite Lush gifts in the comments below 🙂

 

 

Fenty Beauty

PRO FILT’R Soft Matte Longwear Foundation

 

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 23.46.54.png

Rihanna recently caused a huge stir in the Beauty industry by launching her own cosmetic brand called Fenty Beauty.

Im delighted to confirm that Fenty Beauty is Cruelty Free and offers a selection of Vegan products including the Pro Filt’r Soft Matt Foundation.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 00.06.43.png

The Fenty Beauty foundation collection features 40 shades to suit every complexion from extremely light suiting the palest complexion to much deeper shades for a much darker skin-tone.

“Foundation is one of those areas in the beauty industry that has a big void for women at extreme ends of the shade spectrum. There’s this middle ground that’s covered really, really well. But then if you’re very pale or if you’re very dark, there aren’t a lot of options. And so, I wanted to make sure that women of all skin tones were covered so they could be included in what I created.” – Rihanna

Shade 100 (below)

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 23.49.27.png

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 23.49.44.png

Shade 490 (above)

Rihanna’s all inclusive foundation has seen other brands quickly reacting by updating their product lines and posting a more diverse line of models on their instagram pages than they would normally, in an effort to show that they also cater for darker complexions.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 01.10.42.png

Last week I took a trip to my local Harvey Nichols with a friend and colleague during our lunch hour to be colour matched.

Given that my friend and I have completely different complexions and there are 40 shades to potentially match to, the girl on the make-up counter was very quick to colour match us both.

Even a few weeks after the initial launch, the make-up counter was still very busy in comparison to all the other make-up counters and the clientele was noticeably diverse.

Screen Shot 2017-10-15 at 01.22.07.png

A soft matte, longwear foundation with buildable, medium to full coverage. Pro Filt’r Soft Matte Longwear Foundation gives skin an instantly smooth, pore-diffused, shine-free finish that easily builds to medium to full coverage. The oil-free formula is made with climate-adaptive technology that’s resistant to sweat and humidity, and won’t clog pores so that wherever you are, it’s going to work on your skin. Best of all, this longwearing, light-as-air texture is undetectable on skin — so you always look like you. 

For me personally finding a Cruelty Free Vegan foundation hasn’t been the easiest, I’ve been flitting between foundation brands and shades like a nomad roaming and never settling for the past 4 years that I’ve been Vegan.

Now I am just loving this brand, I feel like I’ve found the perfect match for me, it’s everything it says it is, it’s long lasting, provides excellent coverage, applies easily with a brush and looks light and feels natural on the skin.

The Fenty Foundation retails at £26.99 I feel this is a fair price when comparing to other brands that charge around the same or more and are not as effective.

 

 

Aromi Beauty Matt Liquid Lipsticks

 

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 20.58.10.png

Aromi Beauty is a Vegan, Cruelty free and paraben free, American Beauty Brand based in Minnesota that is certified by both PETA and Leaping Bunny. Owner and founder Hannah Follis a chemist by trade, combined her passion for chemistry and beauty products to create her own beauty brand.

The Matt Liquid Lipsticks are by far my favourite lipstick of all time. It applies like a lipgloss and dries to a matt finish within 30 seconds.

There is an incredible selection of colours to suit the demure, subtle make-up wearers to the creatively loud, artistic make-up lovers and everyone in-between.

 

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 20.59.31.png

This lipstick is super longer lasting, you can eat and drink all day longer and the lipstick will barely even fade and this in my view makes it extremely good value.

It retails at £9.95 at Cocktail Cosmetics in the UK.

Or you can buy via the Aromi Beauty Etsy Shop for £13.24 plus shipping, this in total shipping to the UK cost me £20.00

Cocktail Cosmetics do have a decent selection but there is a much larger variety in the Aromi Beauty Etsy Store, they also have Matt  Liquid Lipstick bundle packages available.

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 21.00.02.png

 Rose Gold Metallic

Screen Shot 2017-10-14 at 21.13.44.png

 Preppy Red and Toasted Almond

The only drawback buying this brand online can be tricky as when buying any make-up product online, even with the great colour guide on the website, it’s always much better to be able to see if the colours are right for you.

To avoid disappointment I recommend checking out the Aromi Beauty Instagram Page as they shares customer selfies which can help give a better idea if the lipstick you want to purchase will suit your skin tone or achieve the look you want.

I recently purchased a lipstick I passed on to a friend because it wasn’t the red lipstick shade I would usually go for in autumn. She reported back saying that it was best staying on lipstick she’d ever used and enquired about the price as she expected it to be an expensive lipstick due the quality, she was really pleasantly surprised and felt that it was a brand of lipstick she would consider buying.

 

Drops of Youth Liquid Peel

 

 Screen Shot 2017-09-24 at 21.14.03.png

The Drops of Youth Liquid Skin Peel from the Body Shop and is a gel formula.

This product is amazing and has revolutionised my facial exfoliation skin care routine.

It’s gentle exfoliator and leaves the skin fresh and clean. The Body Shop have recently run an anti-pollution campaign helping to raise awareness the effect of living and working in the city can have on our skin.

Pollution can clog pores that lead to blemishes and breakouts. It can also accelerate cell oxidation, which brings on dull skin with uneven texture and greyish tones. Constant exposure to pollution can lead to dry skin and even premature ageing. To help combat all the effects of urban pollution it’s recommended to have a good nightly cleansing routine followed by a non-comedogenic moisturiser.

The Body Shop

How to use

Apply 2 -3 pumps worth of product on to the face spreading evenly. Leave for 20 – 30 seconds, using your first 2 fingers on both hands gently in circular motions rub the gel peel into the skin. Immediately you will feel dead skin cells and dirt be lifted from the skin. When the gel can no longer be rubbed in, take a warm flannel of water and remove the remaining residue and dirt from your face.

Use 1-2 weekly.

This liquid peel retails at £18.00 and is totally worth the money and using once or twice weekly will still last a long time.

The Liquid Peel Range has been popular with customers and they have created a Drops of Light Liquid Peel (also Vegan friendly) and a Vitamin C Liquid Peel which is not Vegan.

Ingredients:

Aqua, Alcohol Denat., Propylene Glycol, Glycerin, Carbomer, PPG-26-Buteth-26, Palmitamidopropyltrimonium Chloride, PEG-40 Hydrogenated Castor Oil, Quaternium-80, Parfum, Behentrimonium Chloride, Linalool, Citronellol, Cetrimonium Chloride, Isopropyl Alcohol, Crithmum Maritimum Extract, Eryngium Maritimum Extract, Leontopodium Alpinum Callus Culture Extract, Sodium Hyaluronate, Citric Acid, Xanthan Gum.

Tip

Great at removing dead skin cells and dirt from the feet.

 

Skinny Tan

When looking for a self tanning brand for me personally it’s not only important to find a Vegan friendly brand, I also want a product that is free from harmful chemicals.

Our skin is the largest organ of the body and it’s the first to absorb topical applications  of both chemical and natural products in to the bloodstream but it’s the last to receive nutrients of vitamins and minerals and so we should give careful consideration as to what ingredients we apply to our skin. Especially when we are applying the product all over.

Screen Shot 2017-09-17 at 00.46.04.png

Firstly I love the Skinny Tan story, two mom-trepreneurs Kate Cotton and Louise Ferguson who came together to create a tanning product that contained naturally non-toxic derived ingredients.  Skinny Tan has a natural tanning agent that is derived from the seeds of the Brassica napus plant which works naturally with the amino acids in the skin to create the darkening reaction for a natural-looking tan. The product also contains Guarana, a caffeine derivative which is considered an important ingredient in the most popular firming and cellulite creams.

Together these two ingredients help create a natural tan that is safe to use and aims to give a “Skinny” effect.

Screen Shot 2017-09-17 at 00.46.36.png

(Photo taken from the Skinny Tan Instagram)

Skinny Tan claims that the tan will last 7 days, results varying dependent on how much your skin naturally exfoliates.

I purchased the Rose Gold Limited Edition online from Superdrug

Screen Shot 2017-09-16 at 23.40.46.png

For every purchase of the the Skinny Tan Rose Gold Edition, £2 goes to Marie Curie. I purchased the tan when it was on special offer for £9.99, the usual price is £24.99 which is quite expensive I feel for a 100ml tube which I got 2 full applications from.

The tanning cream is bronze in colour to help give you a colour guide and to ensure you don’t miss any areas. For me this was quite a messy experience as I applied the cream with my hands rather than a mitt as I personally don’t feel I have as much control applying tan products with a mitt. This means that you do have to be careful with clothes and towels, but if like me you do manage to get the tan everywhere it does wash out very easily.

I left the tan on overnight to develop, Im always a little apprehensive to see how the tan turns out and with the Rose Gold Skinny Tan I looked like I had a really dark tan which worried me slightly.

It’s worth mentioning that initially after applying Skinny Tan I could feel my skin beginning to heat up which felt uncomfortable to me I have however had this experience before with other products such as shower gels and body butters. Although Skinny Tan does contain natural ingredients it is still possible to have an allergic reaction so if unsure always do a skin test at least 48 hours before applying all over.

I needn’t have worried about the colour though because the next morning when I washed the tan off the colour was a naturally beautiful golden tan colour. Screen Shot 2017-09-16 at 23.05.04.png

It’s true most of us look healthier and feel better for having a tan.

I was really pleased with the effect of this tan, I did have a slight streak on my leg but this was no fault of the product as it was due to a patch of dry skin.

Skinny Tan didn’t last a full 7 days for me but it did last longer than most self tanning products I have used, I also didn’t use the Skinny Tan Afterglow to help maintain the tan.

Screen Shot 2017-09-17 at 00.37.42.png

When I used the product for the second time I applied it 48 hours before going on holiday, naturally the tan quickly faded due to the chlorine in the pool and because the process is quite messy and I didn’t have much of the product left I didn’t bother applying it each night so it’s not a tan I would use pre-holiday again but overall I think it’s a great product. I wouldn’t pay the £24.00 for the Rose Gold Edition but I would certainly buy other products in the range that retail at £9.99. Superdrug often do buy one get one half price offer so I would definitely check out the afterglow gloss to see if this made a difference to how long the tan lasts.

Advertisements